Case Study

Case Studies

BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000 resists the extreme climatic stress of Antarctica!

Kuppel Artkis

LLC "Composite Group" is currently one of the leading private companies in Russia in the composite materials industry. The company manufactures, among other things, fire resistant fibreglass panels for building and construction, rail and commercial vehicle industries (interior and exterior fittings for cars, locomotives and railcars for railways and subways) and for technological equipment. 

LLC "Composite Group" is constantly developing new ways of using composite products with new properties and applications. For this reason, new developments have been made in glass fibre sandwich panels, panels with built-in polymer heaters, products based on sprayed "artificial stone", chemically resistant tanks with complex shapes and products with special physical and mechanical properties. Since 2012, the company has been producing, for example, drainage systems for roads and hanging drainage channels for bridges.

Kuppel Arktis offen

In 2018, the company received the challenge to produce a fibreglass dome with orange gelcoat (BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000). This was intended to protect winter sports enthusiasts from wind and cold when refuelling snowmobiles with fuel and for intermediate storage of the fuel.

During the hibernation of the 64th "Russian Antarctic Expedition" at the station Vostok, the first scientific climatic tests of such a fiberglass dome were carried out. The dome was installed on a snow-covered surface to assess the effects of the severe Antarctic climatic conditions on the material. The dome was exposed to strong ultraviolet radiation ("ozone hole"), low temperature effects (average temperature -74 °С and minimum -82 °С) during the summer months (February-April 2019) and the abrasive effects of needle snowflakes in winds of up to 20 m/sec during the winter months. 

According to S.F. Vasyutkin, General Director of "Composite Group" LLC, feedback from Russian scientists shows that the composite material of the dome with the use of BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000 has survived all the above influences without any external changes to the material, including gloss levels. The dome will continue to be operated by the staff of Vostok Station during a long-term test for low temperatures and strong UV radiation.

Mr. S.F. Vasyutkin: General Director, Candidate of Technical Sciences, Acting Chairman of the Board of the CTI Union, Member of the NCC of the Ministry of Industry and Trade of the Russian Federation.

​BÜFA® -ISO-GELCOAT 3000

The BÜFA product portfolio includes a number of gelcoats for the most different application areas. As Europe’s leading supplier of gelcoats, BÜFA continuously invests in the further development of its line of products.

BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000 can be used for a wide spectrum of applications in which brilliant shades of colour and high UV resistance are required


Product advantages of the BÜFA®-ISO-GELCOAT 3000

  • Unique colour accuracy
  • Withstands strong weathering yet maintains gloss
  • BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000 is REACH compliant


Advantages in Product Processing

  • Fast and cost effective processing
  • Eliminates additional secondary finishing
  • Hand application (BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000-H): Can be applied in one working operation!
  • Spray application (BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000-S): Good stability, no separation of pigments

Processing methods

  • Hand and Spray applications
  • Available qualities: Gelcoats as well as topcoats


Results of weathering according to EN ISO 4892.2



Here you can see the application possibilities of the BÜFA complete program for processors of composite materials.


Industrial Sectors

Case Study

Case Studies

BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000 widersteht den extremen klimatischen Belastungen der Antarktis!

Kuppel Artkis

LLC "Composite Group" ist derzeit eines der führenden privaten Unternehmen in Russland in der Verbundwerkstoffindustrie. Das Unternehmen fertigt u.a. Platten aus feuerfestem Glasfasergewebe für die Bau-, Schienenfahrzeug- und Nutzfahrzeugbranche (Innen- und Außenausstattung von Autos, Lokomotiven und Triebwagen für Eisenbahnen und U-Bahnen) und für technologische Geräte. 

LLC "Composite Group" entwickelt ständig neue Möglichkeiten, Verbundprodukte mit neuen Eigenschaften und Anwendungsbereichen einzusetzen. Aus diesem Grund wurden Neuentwicklungen von Glasfaser-Sandwichpaneelen, Paneelen mit eingebauten Polymerheizungen, Produkte auf Basis von gesprühtem "Kunststein", chemisch resistente Tanks mit komplexen Formen sowie Produkte mit besonderen physikalischen und mechanischen Eigenschaften entwickelt. Seit 2012 produziert das Unternehmen z.B. Entwässerungssysteme für Straßen und hängende Entwässerungsrinnen für Brücken.

Kuppel Arktis offen

Im Jahr 2018 erhielt das Unternehmen die Herausforderung eine Glasfaserkuppel mit orangefarbenem Gelcoat (BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000) herzustellen. Diese sollte Wintersportler beim Betanken von Schneemobilen mit Kraftstoff und die Zwischenlagerung des Kraftstoffes vor Wind und Kälte schützen.

Während der Überwinterung der 64. "Russischen Antarktisexpedition" auf der Station Wostok wurden erste wissenschaftliche, klimatische Tests einer solchen Glasfaserkuppel vorgenommen. Die Kuppel wurde auf verschneiter Fläche installiert, um die Auswirkungen der strengen klimatischen Bedingungen der Antarktis auf das Material zu beurteilen. Die Kuppel war in den Sommermonaten (Februar-April 2019) starker ultravioletter Strahlung ("Ozonloch"), den Auswirkungen niedriger Temperaturen (Durchschnittstemperatur -74 °С und Minimum - 82 °С) und in den Wintermonaten den abrasiven Auswirkungen von Nadelschneeflocken bei Wind bis zu 20 m/sec ausgesetzt.

Laut S.F. Vasyutkin, Generaldirektor der "Composite Group" LLC, zeigt das Feedback russischer Wissenschaftler, dass das Verbundmaterial der Kuppel mit der Verwendung der Gelcoatbeschichtung von BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000 alle oben genannten Einflüsse ohne äußere Veränderungen des Materials, einschließlich des Glanzgrades, überstanden hat. Die Kuppel wird weiterhin von den Mitarbeitern der Station Wostok während eines Langzeittests auf niedrige Temperaturen und starke UV-Strahlung, betrieben.

Mr. S.F. Vasyutkin: Generaldirektor, Kandidat der technischen Wissenschaften, Stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Vorstands der KTI Union, Mitglied des NCC des Ministeriums für Industrie und Handel der Russischen Föderation.

BÜFA®-ISO-GELCOAT 3000

Das BÜFA-Sortiment umfasst eine Vielzahl von Gelcoats, für die verschiedensten Anwendungsgebiete. Als Europas führender Anbieter von Gelcoats investiert BÜFA stetig in die Weiterentwicklung der Produktpalette. BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000 eignet sich für ein breites Anwendungsspektrum bei dem brillante Töne mit hoher UV-Beständigkeit gefordert sind.


Produktvorteile des BÜFA®-ISO-GELCOAT 3000

  • Einzigartige Farbtongenauigkeit
  • Hält starker Bewitterungsbeanspruchung stand, bei hohem Glanzerhalt
  • BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000 ist REACH-Konform

Vorteile in der Produktverarbeitung

  • Schnelleres und kostengünstigeres Arbeiten
  • Wegfall von zusätzlichen Nacharbeiten
  • Handapplikation (BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 3000-H): Aufgrund der höher eingestellten Verarbeitungsviskosität (gegenüber 3000-S) kann in einem Arbeitsschritt  appliziert werden
  • Spritzapplikation (BÜFA®-ISO-Gelcoat 300-S):
  • Gute Standfestigkeit, keine Pigmentseparation

Verarbeitungsverfahren

  • Hand- und Spritzapplikationen
  • Verfügbare Qualitäten Gelcoats sowie Topcoats


Bewitterungsergebnisse nach EN ISO 4892-2



Sehen Sie hier die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten des BÜFA-Komplettprogramms für den Verarbeiter von Verbundwerkstoffen.


Branchen