Case Studies

Astilleros Astondoa Century

Astondoa 110 Century

To honour the 100-year history of the company, Astilleros Astondoa S.A. (Spain) has launched a new line of large, luxury yachts: Astondoa Century.    
 
The first model in this new line is the Astondoa Century 110, a 110 foot yacht with a flying bridge, an overall length of 33.5 metres and a width of 7.03 metres.

Astondoa has been using BÜFA materials for more than 10 years now and is convinced by the quality of our products and the professional advice provided by our employees on-site.  BÜFA gelcoats and BÜFA bonding pastes have proved themselves for many years. To produce the new Century 110, BÜFA Tooling Gelcoat, Neogel Gelcoat, BÜFA Bonding Paste 0051 and 0110 as well as BÜFA Paraffin Solution are now also used.

Astondoa’s main office, which is located in the best part of Santa Pola with a view of the Mediterranean, is just 10 minutes from the airport in Alicante. Yachts up to 122 metres in length are produced here over an area of more than 30,000 m².

 
Astondoa’s passion for designing and producing yachts began in the year 1916. Now in the third generation, Astondoa serves the leisure boating sector as the largest shipyard for boats and yachts in Spain and one of the largest in Europe. 100 years of experience serve as a basis and guarantee the group’s strength today in technology, design and innovation. More than 3,000 ships have been built so far and production figures now range around 100 units per year. Astondoa offers one of the most extensive portfolios which includes a number of models as well as functions to meet any demand. Attractive designs equipped with modern technology are the essence of Astondoa’s philosophy, defined by the sleekness of the lines, styling, decoration and optimal utilisation of space inside and outside.
Engineers and designers combine different materials and textures to create an attractive and sporty look and the resulting elegance, comfort and intelligent functions are exciting. These are ships that awaken a thirst for adventure without having to sacrifice luxury and sophistication. This is the unmistakable mark of Astondoa sport boats.
All in all, the Astondoa group has four large production centres that are strategically placed all over Spain and owns facilities covering a total area of 70,000 m². Great value is placed on the prevention of emissions and environmental contaminates during production.
Locations: Gallarta (Vizcaya), La Unión (Murcia), Vigo (Galicia) und Almansa (Albacete) with distribution partners all over the world For further information, visit the company’s website at: www.astondoa.es

This branch of industry is an important field for glass fibre reinforced plastics. Individual elements, entire decks as well as complete ship hulls for sailing/motor yachts and power boats are made of high quality fibre reinforced plastics elements. Because they must withstand permanent sunshine, salt water and repeated surface treatment by their owners, the quality of the gelcoats used must meet the highest quality standards.


Characteristics such as colour accuracy, resistance to osmosis and surface gloss are the most important material attributes. Along with gelcoat and topcoat qualities on an ISO/NPG and ISO base, BÜFA Composite Systems also has a wide range of high quality bonding pastes in their programme. These include high quality VE bonding pastes (e.g. for bonding hulls and decks), bonding pastes for sandwich constructions (e.g. for bonding foams, balsa wood), bonding pastes for universal use (for bonding wood, metal, fibre reinforced plastics) as well as very special solutions e.g. "liquid glass mats", to prevent air from being entrapped behind the gelcoat.

Case Studies

Astilleros Astondoa Century

Astondoa 110 Century

Zu Ehren der 100-jährigen Firmengeschichte hat Astilleros Astondoa S.A. (Spanien) eine neue Linie von großen Luxus-Yachten ins Leben gerufen: Astondoa Century. 

Das erste Modell dieser neuen Linie ist die Astondoa Century 110, eine 110-Fuß-Yacht mit Flybridge, einer Gesamtlänge von 33,5 und einer Breite von 7,03 Metern.

Seit mehr als 10 Jahren setzt Astondoa BÜFA Materialien ein und ist überzeugt von der Qualität unserer Produkte und der professionellen Beratung unserer Mitarbeiter vor Ort. BÜFA-Gelcoats und BÜFA-Klebeharztypen sind langjährig qualifiziert. Zur Herstellung der neuen Century 110 kamen nun BÜFA-Formenbaugelcoat, Neogel-Gelcoat, BÜFA-Klebeharz 0051 und 0110, sowie BÜFA-Paraffinlösung hinzu.

Astondoa hat seinen zentralen Sitz in Santa Pola in bester Lage mit Blick auf das Meer und nur 10 Minuten entfernt vom Flughafen Alicante. Dort werden auf einer Fläche von über 30.000m² Yachten von bis zu 122 Meter Länge hergestellt.

Die Leidenschaft für die Herstellung und das Design von Yachten begann bereits im Jahr 1916. In der dritten Generation steht Astondoa heute im Dienste des Freizeitsegelsektors als die  größte Werft für Boote und Yachten in Spanien und eine der größten in Europa. 100 Jahre Erfahrung dienen als Grundlage und den Garant für die aktuelle Stärke der Gruppe in Technologie, Design und Innovation. Mehr als  3.000 Schiffe  wurden bereits gebaut und die Produktionszahlen erreichen derzeit 100 Einheiten pro Jahr. Astondoa bietet eines der umfangreichsten Sortimente  mit einer Vielzahl von Modellen und Funktionen für jede Nachfrage. Attraktive Designs ausgestattet mit moderner Technik sind die Essenz der Philosophie von Astondoa, die sich durch die Glätte seiner Linien, das Styling, der Dekoration und optimaler Raumausnutzung innen und außen definiert.

Ingenieure und Designer kombinieren Materialien und Texturen um ein attraktives und sportliches Design zu erreichen und somit ein spannendes Ergebnis an die Eleganz, Komfort und intelligenten Funktionen zu erfüllen. Es sind Schiffe, die den Abenteuerinstinkt wecken, ohne Luxus und Raffinesse zu opfern. Dies ist der unverwechselbare Stempel von Astondoa Sportbooten.

Insgesamt verfügt die Astondoa Gruppe über vier große Produktionszentren, die strategisch in ganz Spanien verteilt sind und  besitzt Einrichtungen mit einer Gesamtfläche von 70,000m². Bei den Produktionsverfahren  wird großer Wert auf die Vermeidung von Emission und Umweltschadstoffen gelegt.

Standorte: Gallarta (Vizcaya), La Unión (Murcia), Vigo (Galicien) und Almansa (Albacete) mit weltweiten Distributionspartnern.

Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie bitte die Webseite des Unternehmens: www.astondoa.es

Dieser Industriezweig ist ein wichtiges Einsatzgebiet für glasfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe. Einzelteile, ganze Decks sowie komplette Schiffsrümpfe für Segel-/Motoryachten und Powerboote werden aus hochwertigen FVK-Teilen gefertigt. Bedingt durch permanente Sonneneinstrahlung, Salzwasser, und wiederholte Oberflächenbehandlung durch die Schiffseigner müssen die eingesetzten Gelcoatqualitäten höchsten Qualitätsansprüchen gerecht werden. Charakteristika wie z. B. Farbgenauigkeit, Osmosebeständigkeit, Oberflächenglanz sind wichtigste Materialattribute.

Neben Gelcoat- und Topcoatqualitäten auf ISO/NPG und ISO-Basis hat BÜFA Composite Systems ein breites Produktprogramm von hochwertigen Klebeharzen im Lieferumfang. Hierzu zählen hochwertige VE-Klebeharze (z. B. zur Rumpf-/Decksverklebung), Klebeharze für Sandwichkon-struktionen (z. B. zur Verklebung von Schäumen, Balsaholz) , universell einsetzbare Klebeharze (für Holz-, Metall-, FVK-Verklebungen) sowie sehr spezielle Lösungen (z. B. „flüssige Glasmatten" zur Vermeidung von Lufteinschlüssen hinter dem Gelcoat).