Case Studies

The new Conductive BÜFA Tooling System – a true asset! 

The Rostock-based company EIKBOOM GmbH is a medium-sized and family-run company that specialises in supporting its customers in every phase of the product life cycle – from development to the serial production of components made of glass fibre-reinforced plastics, such as those used in wind turbines and for the construction of cooling towers, but also during the implementation of aesthetic architectural solutions or for technical tasks with special designs and surface structures.

EIKBOOM has been producing GRP components for wind energy generation, such as wind turbine housings, for over 60 years (including the prototype construction of housings for Germany's first near-shore power plant in 2005 – which was the largest offshore wind power plant in the world at the time). The manufacturer also supplies components for the construction of vehicles, boats and ships, as well as for the food, sports and leisure industries, for power plant construction and numerous other industries. 

EIKBOOM offers suitable machine and processing technology for its customers' requirements, both in open and closed procedures.


The company’s value-added chain comprises engineering, tool design and construction, component production, logistics and transport concepts as well as quality management in accordance with the requirements and specifications of DIN EN ISO 9001:2015. EIKBOOM even has its own research and development department.


Since March 2018, EIKBOOM also has a new CNC-controlled machining centre and thus offers its customers high-precision machining of small and medium-sized components with specific tolerances.


In the field of vehicle construction, EIKBOOM specialises in the manufacture and supply of body components and internal GRP elements. The advantage of fibre-reinforced plastic lies in its lightweight and its ability to be moulded.


“The new BÜFA®-Conductive Tooling Gelcoat and the BÜFA mould construction resins can be processed without any difficulty. On the one hand, the safety aspect is important to us, as the conductive system prevents sparks during demoulding. On the other hand, the system produces a premium-quality surface result. It is a true asset,” says Meyk Rohde, Operations Manager at EIKBOOM GmbH.


EIKBOOM processes the new BÜFA tooling system, consisting of the conductive BÜFA® Conductive Tooling Gelcoat, the first layer resin BÜFA®-resin VE 0910 and the low-profile tooling resin BÜFA®-resin VE 7100


The material is processed with the BÜFA Tec gelcoat spraying unit ES 1 Easy Lift


The new BÜFA tooling system is a revolutionary mould construction system based on the latest findings in polymer chemistry. 


It stands for even better tools in an even shorter time. In an extremely economical process. 


The new BÜFA tooling system keeps you always on the right track when it comes to efficiency. It helps you save time, benefit from lower material consumption and even protect the environment. Furthermore, it ensures that you are right in the forefront in terms of product quality. 


The system produces top-notch mechanical properties and glossy surfaces. It also improves occupational safety thanks to the tool’s conductive capability. 


At a glance

  • Increased process safety
  • Prevention of electrostatic build-up and discharge
  • Minimised dust adhesion
  • Significantly reduced cycle times
  • Higher-quality component surfaces with a marked reduction in waviness
  • Considerable increase in economic efficiency


BÜFA® Conductive Tooling Gelcoat offers the usual properties associated with a tooling gelcoat 

  • Electrical conductivity (TÜV certified) + increased safety (use in EX zones 2, 1 and 0)
  • Improved component quality
  • Faster cycle times due to shorter cleaning steps
  • Increased tool life
  • New possibilities for innovative processing methods 
  • Ideal processing properties
  • Superior gloss and optimised surface stability
  • Reduced mould maintenance effort
  • It meets the required safety standards.

Fibre reinforced plastics have properties that make them especially interesting for the automotive industry. BÜFA Composite Systems offers high quality specialties for manufacturers of utility vehicles (e.g. machine covers for construction vehicles as well as for vehicles used in agriculture), leisure vehicles (e.g. wind deflectors, roof and side elements for motor homes, busses and lorries), automobile parts (e.g. motor hoods, door elements, trunk lids). A line of products was developed especially to meet requirements on aerodynamics, mould geometry, resistance to weather and the state of the surface (Class A).

Here you can see the application possibilities of the BÜFA complete program for processors of composite materials.


Industrial Sectors

Case Studies

Das neue ableitfähige BÜFA Tooling System – Ein absoluter Mehrwert!

Die rostocker Firma EIKBOOM GmbH ist ein mittelständisch geprägtes und familiengeführtes Unternehmen das darauf spezialisiert ist, seinen Kunden in jeder Phase des Produktlebenszyklus zu begleiten - angefangen von der Entwicklung bis hin zur seriellen Fertigung von Bauteilen aus glasfaserverstärkten Kunststoffen wie z. B. im Windanlagen- und im Kühlturmbau, aber auch bei der Umsetzung ästhetischer Architekturlösungen oder technischer Aufgaben mit  speziellen Designs und Oberflächenstrukturen. 

Seit über 60 Jahren produziert die Firma EIKBOOM GFK-Bauteile für die Windenergie, wie z.B. Windanlagengehäuse (u.a. im Jahr 2005 der Prototypenbau der Gondel für Deutschlands erste Near-Shore Anlage - die damals größte Offshore Windanlage der Welt). Unter anderem beliefert der Hersteller Bauteile für den Fahrzeug-, Boots- und Schiffbau, die Lebensmittel-, Sport- und Freizeitindustrie, den Anlagenbau und weitere Branchen.

EIKBOOM bietet die passende Maschinen- und Verarbeitungstechnologie für die Anforderungen seiner Kunden, sowohl in offenen als auch in geschlossenen Verfahren.


Die Wertschöpfungskette reicht vom Engineering, dem Werkzeugbau, der Bauteilproduktion, Logistik und Transportkonzepten bis hin zum Qualitätsmanagement gemäß den Anforderungen und Vorgaben der DIN EN ISO 9001:2015 und eine eigenen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbereich.


Seit März 2018 verfügt EIKBOOM zudem über ein neues CNC-gesteuertes Bearbeitungszentrum und bietet seinen Kunden somit eine hochpräzise Bearbeitung von kleinen und mittelgroßen Bauteilen mit besonderen Toleranzen.


Im Bereich Fahrzeugbau hat EIKBOOM sich auf die Fertigung und Lieferung von Karosseriebauteilen und innenliegender GFK-Elemente spezialisiert. Der Vorteil von faserverstärktem Kunststoff liegt im Leichtbau und der Formgebung.


„Das neue ableitfähige BÜFA®-Conductive Tooling Gelcoat und die BÜFA Formenbauharze lassen sich absolut unproblematisch verarbeiten. Wichtig für uns ist zum einen der Sicherheitsaspekt, da durch das ableitfähige System der Funkenschlag bei der Entformung vermieden wird. Zum anderen erbringt das System ein hochwertigeres Oberflächen-Ergebnis. Ein absoluter Mehrwert.“ so Meyk Rohde, Betriebsleiter der Firma EIKBOOM GmbH.


EIKBOOM verarbeitet das neue BÜFA Tooling System, bestehend aus dem ableitfähigen BÜFA®-Conductive-Tooling Gelcoat, dem 1.-Lage-Harz BÜFA®-Resin VE 0910 und dem Low-Profil Tooling Harz BÜFA®-Resin VE 7100.


Die Verarbeitung des Materials wird mit der BÜFA Tec Gelcoatspritzanlage ES 1 Easy Lift durchgeführt.


Das neue BÜFA Tooling-System ist ein revolutionäres Formenbausystem auf Basis aktuellster Ergebnisse der Polymerchemie.


Es steht für noch bessere Werkzeuge in noch kürzerer Zeit. In einem hochwirtschaftlichen Prozess.


Mit dem neuen BÜFA Tooling-System sind Sie wirtschaftlich immer auf der richtigen Seite. Sie sparen Zeit, profitieren von geringerem Materialeinsatz und schonen sogar die Umwelt. Auch mit Blick auf die Produktqualität spielen Sie in der ersten Liga. Mechanische Kennwerte: Top. Oberflächen: Glänzend! Und die Arbeitssicherheit profitiert auch, dank der Ableitfähigkeit des Werkzeugs.


Auf einen Blick 

  • Gesteigerte Prozess-Sicherheit
  • Elektrostatische Auf- und Entladungen  sicher unterbunden
  • Minimierte Staubanhaftung
  • Deutlich verringerte Zykluszeiten
  • Hochwertigere Bauteil-Oberflächen mit  deutlich verringerter Welligkeit
  • Deutlich gesteigerte Wirtschaftlichkeit


BÜFA®-Conductive-Tooling-Gelcoat bietet

  • gewohnte Eigenschaften eines Tooling-Gelcoats
  • elektrische Ableitfähigkeit (TÜV zertifiziert) + Sicherheitsgewinn (Einsatz in EX-Zonen 2, 1 und 0)
  • verbesserte Bauteilqualität
  • schnellere Taktzeiten durch verkürzte Reinigungsschritte
  • erhöhte Lebensdauer der Werkzeuge
  • neue Möglichkeiten für innovative Verarbeitungsverfahren
  • Ideale Verarbeitungseigenschaften
  • Hoher Glanz und optimierte Oberflächenstabilität
  • Geringerer Formpflegeaufwand
  • Es erfüllt die geforderten Sicherheitsstandards.

Faserverstärkte Kunststoffe besitzen Eigenschaften, die sie speziell für den Bereich Automotive interessant machen. BÜFA Composite Systems bietet hochwertige Spezialitäten für die Hersteller von Nutzfahrzeugen (z. B. Maschinenabdeckungen für Baufahrzeuge sowie für landwirtschaftliche Fahrzeuge), Freizeitfahrzeugen (z. B. Windabweiser, Dach- und Seitenelemente für Wohnmobile, Busse, LKW), PKW-Komponenten (z. B. Motorhauben, Türelemente, Kofferraumdeckel).

Die Produktpalette ist speziell für die Anforderungen an Aerodynamik, Formengeometrie, Witterungsbeständigkeit und Oberflächenbeschaffenheit (Class A) entwickelt.

Sehen Sie hier die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten des BÜFA-Komplettprogramms für den Verarbeiter von Verbundwerkstoffen.


Branchen