Case Studies

INTERTEC - Supplier of protective shelters for arctic regions, the desert and other challenging enviromental conditions

INTERTEC  is a supplier of unique systems  that provide reliable protection for highly sensitive field instrumentation. They are used all over the world to protect equipment that works under extreme operating conditions – in the Arctic, in hot sand deserts but also in Europe. Today, more than half a million such INTERTEC protection systems help instruments, analysis equipment, mobile phone and radar equipment, signalling equipment and transmitters as well as many other devices to operate smoothly and without risk all over the world.

Due to extensive expertise in engineering and through innovation, e.g. in explosion protection and  safety technology, INTERTEC has become the world’s leading manufacturer in this segment today. The INTERTEC protection systems, consisting of GRP sandwich elements with inner and outer skins that enclose a core made of insulating PU foam, combine strength and rigidity with exceptionally good safeguarding functions against adverse environmental conditions. All of the standard products can be adapted to meet specific customer specifications.

BÜFA Composites supplies the new and innovative BÜFA®-CONDUCTIVE Gelcoats based on nanotechnology for these systems which therefore have outstanding properties in the area of conductivity and optimisation of production processes. “BÜFA®-CONDUCTIVE Gelcoats, a high-tech material, offer unbeatable advantages for the production of protection systems in the explosion protection area (according to IEC, ATEX, CSA, GOST, Nepsi) and for harsh environmental conditions with high mechanical requirements” explains Walter Gabler, Technical Director at INTERTEC. “Nearly all of the world’s most well-known companies in the fields of energy, chemistry and engineering are our customers. They trust us when it comes to protecting extremely sensitive instruments and control devices from extreme environmental conditions – using high-tech enclosures and shelters along with heating or cooling systems from INTERTEC”.

Both companies have enjoyed a decade-long cooperation and the development of BÜFA®-CONDUCTIVE Gelcoats was a joint endeavour.

Conductive Products

With the products of the BÜFA®-Conductive Line  we developed new possibilities for applications with reduced electrical resistance requirements.

"BÜFA-ISO-Gelcoat-SV conductive grey" is the new generation of conductive Gelcoats in the BÜFA-Portfolio.

Outstanding conductivity is achieved through the addition of very small quantities of single-wall  CNTs compared to conventional materials on a carbon black, graphite or carbon fibre base, the quantity  used is less by a factor of 300. Even when compared to conventional multi-wall CNTs, the quantity used is less by a factor of 30. With this new technology, resistances in a range from 109 to 102 Ohm are variably adjustable.

This results in the following new possibilities and advantages:

Visual appearance:

New are shades of colour not possible before, all the way to translucent gelcoat formulations, can now be formulated. These new formulations cannot be distinguished visually from regular, non-conductive materials. Due to the small quantities of single-wall CNTs required, high gloss components can be produced.

Processing

Processing properties remain the same which allows normal processing equipment to be used. Viscosity values also remain at normal levels . This guarantees clearly better de-airing compared to conventional materials.  Because of the lower, reduced quantity of pigments used, curing behaviour is no longer negatively influenced.

High Process Reliability

Conductivity values can be repeatedly achieved from one component to the next. The fine distribution of the nanotubes in the gelcoat guarantee consistently uniform conductivity values.

Your Advantages at a glance:

Constant electrical conductivity, adjustable from 109 to 102 Ohm

Advantages

  • Constant electrical conductivity, adjusable from  109 to 102 Ohm
  • Electrical heating
  • Available in a wide range of colours or translucent
  • Anti-static
  • Process optimization
  • Low Concentration of functional additives
  • Low viscosity

Case Studies

INTERTEC - Lieferant für Schutzgehäuse für die Arktis, Sandwüsten und andere herausfordernde Milieus

INTERTEC ist Lieferant für einzigartige Systeme die zuverlässigen Schutz für hochempfindliche Feldinstrumentierung bieten.Sie sind weltweit im Einsatz zum Schutz von Anlagen, die unter harten Betriebsbedingungen arbeiten – in der Arktis, in der Sandwüste aber natürlich auch in Europa. Über eine halbe Million solcher INTERTEC-Schutzsysteme verhelfen heute weltweit Instrumenten, Analysegeräten, Mobilfunk- und Radargeräten, Signalanlagen oder Transmittern u.v.m. zum reibungslosen und risikolosen Betrieb. 

Aufgrund der umfangreichen Expertise im Engineering und durch Innovation z.B. im Explosionsschutz, Brandschutz und der Sicherheitstechnik ist INTERTEC heute in diesem Segment zum weltweit führenden Hersteller aufgestiegen. Die INTERTEC Schutzsysteme, bestehend aus GFK Sandwichelementen mit Innen- und Außenlayern und einem Kern aus thermisch isolierendem PUSchaum, kombinieren Festigkeit und Steifigkeit mit einer überdurchschnittlich guten Schutzfunktion gegen widrige Umweltbedingungen. Alle Standardprodukte können kundenspezifisch angepasst werden. BÜFA Composites liefert dazu die neuen und innovativen BÜFA®-CONDUCTIVE Gelcoats, die Nanotechnologie basiert sind und somit im Bereich der Ableitfähigkeit und der Verarbeitungsprozess- Optimierung hervorragende Eigenschaften aufweisen.

 „BÜFA®-CONDUCTIVE Gelcoats, ein High-Tech Material, bietet unschlagbare Vorteile für die Herstellung von Schutzsystemen im Explosionsschutzbereich (gemäß IEC, ATEX, CSA, GOST, Nepsi) und für den Einsatz unter rauen Umgebungsbedingungen mit hohen mechanischen Ansprüchen“, so Walter Gabler, Technischer Leiter bei INTERTEC. „Zu unseren Kunden zählen fast alle der weltweit bekanntesten Unternehmen in den Bereichen Energie, Chemie und Engineering. Sie vertrauen uns wenn es darum geht, hochempfi ndliche Instrumente und Kontrollgeräte gegen extreme Belastungen zu schützen – mit High-Tech-Gehäusen und mit Heiz- oder Kühlsystemen von INTERTEC“. Die beiden Firmen verbindet eine jahrzehntelange Zusammenarbeit, die Entwicklung der BÜFA®-CONDUCTIVE Gelcoats ist eine Gemeinschaftsarbeit.

BÜFA®-CONDUCTIVE Gelcoats

Mit den Produkten der BÜFA®-Conductive Linie entstehen ganz neue Möglichkeiten für Anwendungen bei denen geringer elektrischer Widerstand gefordert ist.

"BÜFA-ISO-Gelcoat-SV leitfähig grau" ist die neue Generation der ableitfähigen Gelcoats im BÜFA-Portfolio.

Die hervorragende Leitfähigkeit wird durch den Zusatz von sehr geringen Mengen Single-Wall-CNT's erreicht.

Im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Materialien auf Basis von Carbon Black,Graphit oder Carbonfaser liegt die Einsatzmenge um den Faktor 300 niedriger. Selbst im Vergleich zu gängigen Multi-Wall-CNT's liegt die Einsatzmenge um den Faktor 30 niedriger Mit der neuen Technologie lassen sich Widerstände in einem Bereich von 109 bis 102 Ohm variabel einstellen. Daraus ergeben sich folgende neue Möglichkeiten und Vorteile:

Optik

Neue bis dato nicht darstellbare Farbtöne bis hin zu transzluzenten Gelcoatformulierungen. Optisch sind die neuen Formulierungen von regulären nicht leitfähigen Materialien nicht zu unterscheiden. Aufgrund der niedrigen Dosierung sind hochglänzende Bauteile möglich.

Verarbeitung

Die Verarbeitungseigenschaften bleiben erhalten, dadurch können die normalen Verarbeitungsmaschinen genutzt werden. Die Viskositätswerte liegen auf normalem gewohntem Niveau. Dies garantiert eine deutlich verbesserte Entlüftung im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Materialien. Aufgrund der niedrigeren gesenkten Pigmentanteile wird das Härtungsverhalten nicht mehr negativ beeinflußt.

Hohe Prozesssicherheit

Die Leitwerte sind von Bauteil zu Bauteil reproduzierbar. Die feine Verteilung der Nanopartikel im Gelcoat garantiert konstante gleichmäßige Leitwerte.

Ihre Vorteile auf einen Blick

  • Konstante elektrische Leitfähigkeit, anpassbar von 109 bis 102 Ohm
  • Für elektrische Heizelemente einsetzbar (Widerstandheizung)
  • Geringe Konzentration funktionaler Zusatzstoffe ermöglichen vielfältige Farbgebungen
  • Transluzent und in vielen unterschiedlichen Farben erhältlich
  • Antistatisch
  • Prozess-Sicherheit/ einfache Verarbeitung
  • Geringe Viskosität für optimale Verarbeitung